## 16.—Lieutenant-Governors of Provinces, 1867-1929, and present Ministries—concluded.

#### BRITISH COLUMBIA.

#### LIBUTENANT-GOVERNORS.

Name.	Date of Appointment.	Name.	Date of Appointment.
J. W. Trutch. Albert Norton Richards. Clement F. Cornwall. Hugh Nelson. Edgar Dewdney. Thomas R. McInnes. Sir Henry G. Joly de Lotbinière.	July 20, 1876 July 20, 1881 Feb. 8, 1887 Nov. 1, 1892 Nov. 18, 1897	Sir Frank S. Barnard Col. Edward G. Prior Walter C. Nichol	Dec. 3, 1909 Dec. 5, 1914 Dec. 9, 1919 Dec. 24, 1920

#### TWENTY-FIRST MINISTRY.

Office.	Name.	Date of Appointment.	
Premier and Minister of Railways. Provincial Secretary and Commissioner of Fisheries. Attorney-General. Minister of Lands. Minister of Finance and Minister of Industries. Minister of Agriculture. Minister of Mines and Minister of Labour, Minister of Public Works. Minister of Education. President of the Council. Minister without Portfolio.	Hon. F. P. Burden.  Hon. W. C. Shelly.  Hon. William Atkinson.  Hon. W. A. McKenzie.  Hon. N. S. Lougheed.  Hon. J. Hinchliffe,  Hon. R. W. Bruhb.	Aug. 21, 1928 Aug. 21, 1928	

### THE TERRITORIES.

Note.—In 1888 the districts of Alberta, Assiniboia, Athabaska and Saskatchewan, called the Northwest Territories, with their capital at Regina, were given local responsible government, and the old Northwest Council was replaced by the Northwest Legislature, which existed until Aug. 31, 1905. When the area approximately comprised within their limits was formed into the provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan in 1905, these provinces were given systems of government similar to the other provinces of the Dominion. The remaining areas (the Yukon Territory and the provisional districts of Franklin, Keewatin and Mackenzie) are now administered by the Northwest Territories Branch of the Department of the Interior.

#### LIEUTENANT-GOVERNORS.

Name.	Date of Appointment.	Name.	Date of Appointment.
A. G. Archibald. Francis Goodschall Johnson. Alexander Morris. David Laird. Edgar Dewdney.	May 10, 1870 April 9, 1872 Dec. 2, 1872 Oct. 7, 1876 Dec. 3, 1881	Joseph Royal C. H. Mackintosh M. C. Cameron A. E. Forget A. E. Forget	July 1, 1888 Oct. 31, 1893 May 30, 1898 Oct. 11, 1898 Mar. 30, 19041

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Second term.

# PART IV.—CANADIAN REPRESENTATIVES IN OTHER COUNTRIES.

The policy of the early North American colonies, of maintaining in London accredited representatives for business and diplomatic purposes, was recognized in the eighteenth century as being a more satisfactory means of communciation with the British Government than that provided by occasional official visits or by correspondence. Edmund Burke, the noted British statesman, held the position of agent for the colony of New York for some years following 1771. Of the Canadian